Close

A note on cookies

We use cookies to improve your experience of our website. If you want to find out more see our Privacy Policy

Menu

Materials Research Institute

People menu

People

Academics

Found 54 matches. Click on a name or photo to view details.

Dr Isaac Abrahams

Senior Lecturer
Department School of Biological and Chemical Sciences
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 3235
Email i.abrahams@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords Defect Structure, Neutron Diffraction, Solid State Ionics, Biomedical Glasses, X-ray Diffraction

Dr Maisoon Al-Jawad

Lecturer in Dental Physical Sciences
Department Institute of Dentistry
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 5960
Email m.al-jawad@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords synchrotron x-ray scattering, biomineralization, dental hard tissues, protein binding, neutron scattering

Dr Helena Azevedo

Senior Lecturer in Biomedical Engineering & Biomaterials
Department School of Engineering and Materials Science
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 5282
Email h.azevedo@qmul.ac.uk

Dr Ettore Barberi

Lecturer in Simulation and Modelling of Engineering Systems
Department School of Engineering and Materials Science
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 7748
Email e.barbieri@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords Fracture, Composites, Polymers, Ceramics, Metals

Prof Cees Bastiaansen

Professor of Materials
Department School of Engineering and Materials Science
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 8865
Email c.w.m.bastiaansen@qmul.ac.uk

Dr Mark Baxendale

Reader in Nanotechnology
Department School of Physics and Astronomy
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 5795
Email m.baxendale@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords carbon nanotubes, nanotechnology, metrology, thermoelectrics

Dr Remzi Becer

Senior Lecturer in Materials Science
Department School of Engineering and Materials Science
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 6534
Email r.becer@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords Polymer Synthesis, Smart Materials, Glycopolymers, Nanomedicine, High-Throughput Experimentation

Dr Emiliano Bilotti

Academic Fellow
Department School of Engineering and Materials Science
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 7575
Email e.bilotti@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords Polymer Nanocomposites, Pyro-resistive Polymer Composites, Organic Thermoelectrics, Piezo-electric Polymers, High Performance Fibres

Dr Lorenzo Botto

Lecturer in Simulation-Modelling in Engineering Systems
Department School of Engineering and Materials Science
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 7503
Email l.botto@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords soft matter, fluid mechanics, colloidal and interface science, surface-tension phenomena, applied mathematics

Prof James Busfield

Professor of Materials
Department School of Engineering and Materials Science
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 8866
Email j.busfield@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords Rubber, Elastomer

Dr Andy Bushby

Reader in Materials
Department School of Engineering and Materials Science
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 7100
Email a.j.bushby@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords Micro-mechanics, Nanoindentation, Nano-structured materials, Biological materials, Electron microscopy

Dr Federico Carpi

Reader in Biomedical Engineering and Biomaterials
Department School of Engineering and Materials Science
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 6087
Email f.carpi@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords actuator, artificial muscle, elastomer, electroactive polymer, soft smart material

Dr Michael Cattell

Senior Lecturer in Dental Technology
Department Institute of Dentistry
Telephone +44 (0)20 7377 7000 x46100
Email m.cattell@qmul.ac.uk

Dr Gregory Chass

Reader in Physical & Theoretical Chemistry
Department School of Biological and Chemical Sciences
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 5835
Email g.chass@qmul.ac.uk

Dr Rachel Crespo-Otero

Lecturer in Theoretical/Computational Organic Chemistry
Department School of Biological and Chemical Sciences
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 8404
Email r.crespo-otero@qmul.ac.uk

Dr John Dennis

Reader in Molecular Nanostructural Materials
Department School of Physics and Astronomy
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 3412
Email j.dennis@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords Carbon, Fullerenes

Dr Devis Di Tommaso

Lecturer in Computational Chemistry
Department School of Biological and Chemical Sciences
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 6226
Email d.ditommaso@qmul.ac.uk

Dr Kevin Donovan

Reader in Molecular Physics
Department School of Physics and Astronomy
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 3410
Email k.j.donovan@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords Molecular Electronics, Electron Transport, Polydiacetylenes, Langmuir-Blodgett Films, Carbon nanotubes

Prof Martin Dove

Director of the Centre for Condensed Matter and Materials Physics
Department School of Physics and Astronomy
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 3426
Email martin.dove@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords Local structure, Disordered materials, Atomistic simulation, Neutron scattering, Negative thermal expansion

Dr Alan Drew

Reader in Condensed Matter and Materials Physics
Department School of Physics and Astronomy
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 3435
Email a.j.drew@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords Muon spin spectroscopy, Organic electronics, Spin dynamics, Magnetism, Optical excitation dynamics

Dr Steve Dunn

Reader in Nanoscale Materials
Department School of Engineering and Materials Science
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 8873
Email s.c.dunn@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords Energy Harvesting, Solar Fuels, Functional Surfaces, Piezo/Ferroelectric materials, Nanostructures

Prof David Dunstan

Professor of Experimental Physics
Department School of Physics and Astronomy
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 3411
Email d.dunstan@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords Carbon nanotubes, High pressure, Mechanical properties of metals

Dr Oliver Fenwick

Royal Society University Research Fellow and proleptic Lecturer / Research Fellow
Department School of Engineering and Materials Science
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 3150
Email o.fenwick@qmul.ac.uk

Dr Julien Gautrot

Lecturer in Biomaterials
Department School of Engineering and Materials Science
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 5263
Email j.gautrot@qmul.ac.uk

Prof William Gillin

Professor of Experimental Physics / Director for the Materials Research Institute
Department School of Physics and Astronomy
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 5798
Email w.gillin@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords Semiconductors, Organic semiconductors, Optoelectronic properties, Spin transport, Organic Photonics

Dr Cristina Giordano

Reader in Chemistry
Department School of Biological and Chemical Sciences
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 6605
Email c.giordano@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords Novel synthetic strategies, Characterisation of nanostructures, Nanohybrid, Nanocomposites, Processing

Dr Himadri Gupta

Senior Lecturer in Biomaterials
Department School of Engineering and Materials Science
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 8867
Email h.gupta@qmul.ac.uk

Prof Robert Hill

Professor of Physical Sciences in Relation to Dentistry
Department Institute of Dentistry
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 5974
Email r.hill@qmul.ac.uk

Dr Karin Hing

Senior Lecturer in Biomaterials
Department School of Engineering and Materials Science
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 7804
Email k.a.hing@qmul.ac.uk

Dr Ana Jorge-Sobrido

Materials Research Institute Research Fellow
Department School of Engineering and Materials Science
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 5582
Email a.sobrido@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords Energy materials, PEM electrolysers, PEM fuel cells, Bifunctional oxygen electrocatalysts, Microbial fuel cells

Dr Natalia Karpukhina

Lecturer
Department Institute of Dentistry
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 5975
Email n.karpukhina@qmul.ac.uk

Dr Steffi Krause

Reader in Electroanalytical Systems
Department School of Engineering and Materials Science
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 3747
Email s.krause@qmul.ac.uk

Dr Theo Kreouzis

Senior Lecturer
Department School of Physics and Astronomy
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 3432
Email t.kreouzis@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords Organic semiconductors, Devices, Charge transport, Magnetoresistance

Dr Lilia Milanesi

Lecturer
Department School of Biological and Chemical Sciences
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 5902
Email l.milanesi@qmul.ac.uk

Dr Alston Misquitta

Lecturer in Condensed Matter and Materials Physics
Department School of Physics and Astronomy
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 3427
Email a.j.misquitta@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords Ab initio simulations, Organic materials, Nucleation

Dr Christian Nielsen

Materials Research Insititute Research Fellow
Department School of Biological and Chemical Sciences
Telephone +44(0)20 7882 5582
Email c.b.nielsen@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords organic electronics, organic bioelectronics, semiconducting polymers, materials chemistry

Dr Mario Orsi

Lecturer in Biomedical Engineering & Biomaterials
Department School of Engineering and Materials Science
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 3450
Email m.orsi@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords Molecular simulation, Nanomaterials, Interfaces, Membranes, Water

Dr Matteo Palma

Lecturer in Chemistry
Department School of Biological and Chemical Sciences
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 6601
Email m.palma@qmul.ac.uk

Prof Ton Peijs

Professor of Materials
Department School of Engineering and Materials Science
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 8865
Email t.peijs@qmul.ac.uk

Dr Anthony Phillips

Lecturer in Condensed Matter and Materials Physics
Department School of Physics and Astronomy
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 3429
Email a.e.phillips@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords Neutron scattering, Disordered materials, Hybrid materials, Negative thermal expansion

Prof Nicola Pugno

Professor of Materials Science
Department School of Engineering and Materials Science
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 6310
Email n.pugno@qmul.ac.uk

Prof Mike Reece

Professor of Functional Ceramics
Department School of Engineering and Materials Science
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 8872
Email m.j.reece@qmul.ac.uk

Prof Marina Resmini

Professor of Materials Chemistry
Department School of Biological and Chemical Sciences
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 3268
Email m.resmini@qmul.ac.uk

Dr Maxie Roessler

Lecturer in Chemistry and Biochemistry
Department School of Biological and Chemical Sciences
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 6627
Email m.roessler@qmul.ac.uk

Dr Andrei Sapelkin

Lecturer
Department School of Physics and Astronomy
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 3414
Email a.sapelkin@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords X-ray absorption spectroscopy, Nanomaterials, Carbon nanotubes, quantum electronics

Dr Bob C. Schroeder

MRI Academic Fellow
Department School of Biological and Chemical Sciences
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 5582
Email b.c.schroeder@qmul.ac.uk

Prof Gleb Sukhorukov

Professor of Biomedical Materials
Department School of Engineering and Materials Science
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 5508
Email g.sukhorukov@qmul.ac.uk

Professor Magdalena Titirici

Reader in Materials Science
Department School of Engineering and Materials Science
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 6272
Email m.m.titirici@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords Hydrothermal Carbonization, Fuel Cells and ORR, Energy Storage, CO2 Capture, Biofuels

Dr Kostya Trachenko

Reader
Department School of Physics and Astronomy
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 6547
Email k.trachenko@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords Molecular dynamics simulations, Radiation damage, liquids, glasses, disordered materials

Professor Tony Vlcek

Professor of Inorganic Chemistry
Department School of Biological and Chemical Sciences
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 3260
Email a.vlcek@qmul.ac.uk

Prof Mike Watkinson

Professor in Synthetic Chemistry
Department School of Biological and Chemical Sciences
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 3263
Email m.watkinson@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords Sensors, Catalysis, Supramolecular Chemistry, Coordination Chemistry

Dr Peter Wyatt

Senior Lecturer
Department School of Biological and Chemical Sciences
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 3267
Email p.b.wyatt@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords Organic Synthesis, Photonics, Amino acid chemistry

Dr Haixue Yan

Academic Fellow
Department School of Engineering and Materials Science
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 5164
Email h.x.yan@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords Ferroelectrics, Ceramics, Thermoelectrics, Spark Plasma Sintering, Nanotechnology

Dr Ali Zarbakhsh

Lecturer
Department School of Biological and Chemical Sciences
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 3259
Email a.zarbakhsh@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords Surfaces and interfaces, Drug Delivery & Biosensors, Membrane transport, Metal oil interface /Lubricant additives, Neutron and X-ray scattering

^ Back to Top